The Sharing of Experience

Read testimonials from people who have planned and experienced services here.

Oftentimes the best way to get a sense of how you’ll feel is to hear directly from families that have held services for loved ones at Van Orsdel Funeral & Cremation Services. We invite you to read and explore a range of testimonials and get the best sense possible of what your experience can be. Please ask us any questions, any time. We want nothing more than to help you through a difficult time with ease, peace and healing.

Need immediate assistance or have questions? CALL US TODAY.

I must commend Akeem Skinner for his caring, understanding, guidance and professionalism during this journey with speaks volume. He walked me through the process with patience, guidance and understanding. Thank you Akeem from the bottom of my heart! May God bless you!

Iva Dozier August 28, 2023
5 stars

Akeem, Ney, Jorge, Frank, Leroy, Nadjeda, Sharon, & Yorley we’re a great help in assisting our family with the services.

Michelle June 08, 2023
5 stars

Van Orsdel provided excellent services to my family. Akeem was professional, calm and respectful which is appreciated at a difficult time when emotions are fragile. He offered advice when asked, and provided all the information we needed. I would recommend Van Orsdel to other families.

Elaine Roden March 17, 2023
5 stars

Everyone at Van Orsdel was kind, compassionate, and efficient in helping my family through this sad time. Their follow-up and follow-through was extraordinary - something that we don’t often see these days. I can’t thank them enough for making this sad event seamless.

Brenda Brook February 08, 2023
5 stars

This Funeral Home provided such comfort and support and Akeem the representative handling my mother’s cremation was excellent and so professional at his work.He eased the process knowing that my mother was in Good hands..I honestly Recomend this Funeral home and for anyone that is thinking about a funeral home trust me this is the right one.

Greg Cox December 13, 2022
5 stars

It is very hard to find words enough to thank Akeem Skinner for the kindness, understanding and care he has given to me during the grieving process of the loss of my husband. He has gone above and beyond to assist me, every step of the way, through this very difficult time. I am grateful to him and Van Orsdel Funeral & Cremation Services.

Sandra Hart-Rand November 15, 2022
5 stars

Van Orsdel certainly helped us with all of the details of cremation and a beautiful memorial service for our loved one. Akeem and Francis were attentive to our needs and concerns. Thank you!

Michelle E August 17, 2022
5 stars

In the initial hours of this painful moment Akeem was very supportive and helpful helping me navigate through the entire process. He also made himself available at different hours when I had a question or concern. I can’t express enough gratitude for all his help and support.

Orlando L. Martinez July 16, 2022
5 stars

En momentos tan dolorosos, Van Orsdel ofreció un excelente, cálido y rápido servicio. Su personal, en especial Akeem fue muy atento, considerado y nos mantuvo siempre informados del proceso. Mi mas sincero agradecimiento.

Luigi Annese G June 19, 2022
5 stars

Our meeting with Henry Ketzle was a very pleasant one. He's very professional and knowledgeable. Reviewed all my paperwork, explained everything very clearly and answered all my question. My daughter and I were very pleased and satisfied with his professionalism. I've been with Van Orsdel since 1989 and several of my family members have been viewed there. I can I've been very pleased with all their services. Thank you

Nydia Soto July 13, 2021
5 stars

Everyone was so kind and compassionate. The answered all of my questions and went over and above to make this difficult time easier.

Karen T. July 23, 2019
5 stars

There are no words to explain how one is affected when a loved one passed. In our case, when my Father just passed away a few days ago, it makes me so happy and gives me and my Family inner comfort to know someone so amazing like Monica Vazquez is on the other end of the phone when you have to make this difficult call to make arrangements. She has gone above and beyond to make this experience at a hard time easier and take time to explain in detail the whole process carefully and with such a loving demeanor. Monica has been such an influential person in this time of our lives that we consider her an ANGEL Heaven sent to make this situation more bearable. She made us feel like family. We wish everyone had a Monica at a time like this ..Van Orsdel is Blessed to have her on their team me and my whole family are grateful. Thank you. God Bless.

The Rodriguez Family October 08, 2019
5 stars

I was very pleased from my first phone call to the final service. If I lived in the area of Miami again, I would certainly choose Van Orsdel again!

Pauline September 13, 2012
5 stars

I would recommend Van Orsdel Family Funeral Chapels to friends and family.

Craig May 02, 2012
5 stars

Van Orsdel is the Best in Miami. Used them twice in seven years. Super staff and facilities. Thank you!

Nelson March 29, 2012
5 stars

They were great - we have used them for over 35 years. From the 1st call I put out to them till the end.

Chirstine January 09, 2012
5 stars

The staff made the arrangements very smooth! A very competent and well run establishment!

Kathy September 09, 2011
5 stars

My grandfather could not have been seen to better. Our family was well supported, accommodated to a nicety, and treated respectfully by all. Clean efficient facilities, clean efficient people. Akeem, Ney, Frank, Jorge and Nadjeda did their firm proud. Thank you.

A Patel July 20, 2023
5 stars

I am immensely grateful to Van Orsdel Funeral Services, particularly Florence and Liz, for their exceptional support and compassion during the passing of my dear mother. Their care and professionalism provided immense comfort during this difficult time. Florence and Liz, your kindness and expertise made all the difference. From the initial arrangements to the final service, you ensured that every detail was handled with sensitivity and respect. The serene atmosphere of Van Orsdel Funeral Home created a peaceful space for family and friends to gather and honor my mother's memory. The additional support services offered were invaluable, lightening the burden during this challenging period. To the entire team at Van Orsdel Funeral Home, thank you for your unwavering support and understanding. Florence and Liz, your compassion will always be remembered. I highly recommend Van Orsdel Funeral Home to those in need of exceptional care. With heartfelt appreciation,

Carine Lespinasse May 16, 2023
5 stars

My personal experience with Van Orsdel Crematorium has been a positive and supportive one. My mom had paid for her cremation over 15 years ago, and with the rising costs of nearly everything I wanted to make sure that her original contract would be honored. The second hurdle for me is that I am in the middle of the Pacific Ocean, it would take 3 days to get to Miami, Florida, where my mom currently is living. When she passes on I wanted to make sure that her last wishes would also be honored. I wanted it to be in writing. Henry Ketzle, has gone above and beyond to make sure that all would be covered with Van Orsdel and in writing which has given me great peace of mind. I am so grateful for Henry Ketzle and his gentle and professional way. Thank you, again!

Keyla Gonzalez February 15, 2023
5 stars

My Mom's passing is one of the most surreal moments I've ever experienced. As an only child, our bond was strong, not always friendly, but strong, and to think that she no longer occupies space in this world is still beyond my comprehension. Liz was the gentlest, most compassionate person I could have wished to speak with, and I imagine all your directors are equally sympathetic. However, this young woman could read my mind and express for me what I couldn't. She treated me like a fine porcelain doll, and that is exactly what I needed. Van Orsdel in general handled this inevitable time in my life with efficiency, patience, and grace. I was never given any deadlines for completing paperwork or collecting my Mom's ashes. It felt like family members taking the load off my shoulders. I can never thank you enough for all you've done. There simply are no words.

Barbara Binker January 23, 2023
5 stars

I would just like to send a special thank you to vans Orsdel funeral home of midtown Miami. My niece Mya Nichole Johnson died to a rare cancer. She had to be shipped from Houston Texas, and prepared for her funeral services. Vans Orsdel prepared her beautiful, was on time with everything, and made the grieving process as smooth as best for us, as they can make it. Funeral staff was professional, and responsive with all questions and regards. There’s no doubt that Vans Orsdel is one of the best funerals homes to send your love ones too for their final resting place on earth. Thank you vans Orsdel. You are more tha 5 stars!

Issiah Edwards December 01, 2022
5 stars

Wow I wanted to say that Van Orsdel Funeral home gave me such a positive experience the assistance that I got from this young talented representative Akeem was amazing.This Gentleman helped me through the hardest time of my life with the loss of my mother and he gives his time even after the process is done he is still there giving up his time to comfort me through my loss..Trust me if you are undecided about a funeral home VanOrsdel is the way to go they will handle everything else and make it so much easier for the family to move forward with the care that their loved 1 should get..RIP my beautiful Mother😪

Greg Cox September 02, 2022
5 stars

Wish to express sincere appreciation to your team member Akeem who was extremely helpful in assisting our family. In times such as this, it means so much more. Compassion, understanding and quiet efficiency are welcome attributes which Akeem demonstrated. Thank you Akeem

Lalu N Vaswani August 04, 2022
5 stars

From the very first phone call I had with Florence she was so personable, knowledgeable and sincere. She was a very welcome comfort to us every step of the way. Mr. Van Orsdel was beyond helpful and attentive to us with the burial plans. We are overwhelmed with gratitude.

Suzanne N July 12, 2022
5 stars

I and my family want to express our heartfelt thanks to Van Orsdel and their staff (specifically Alexandra, Liz and others) on their professionalism, comfort and understanding. They did a wonderful job helping our family with every detail of our mother's funeral services. They exceeded my expectations. Thank you during this time of healing for our family.

Jeffrey Burns June 02, 2022
5 stars

Van Orsdel conducted my brother and fathers services with respect and dignity. They were a great support for us while handling the services and after.

Jeannette C. August 13, 2019
5 stars

They have been so helpful, professional and understanding. We are very grateful that we have chosen their services during these difficult times. Needless to say the facility itself is very pleasant and beautifully decorated.

Maria V
5 stars

When our mother passed, my sisters and I did not know the process. The staff at Van Orsdel walked us through everything and were very helpful. We had a slight delay with the doctor’s signature, but they were able to resolve it quickly and have everything ready in time for her service. We especially liked the fingerprint jewelry that they offer. My sisters and I each got one and it is very special to us.

Ricky June 18, 2019
5 stars

Van Orsdel was terrific - I cannot say enough great things about them. They were helpful, thoughtful and considerate. They walked us through the process, followed up with us and my mother looked like herself. I would recommend highly and without any reservation.

Kara May 16, 2012
5 stars

All of the personnel at Van Orsdel were attentive to every detail and treated us with the utmost of professionalism and care at such a difficult time. The funeral director was a pleasure to deal with, was knowledgeable, responsive and extremely caring. He definitely made a world of a difference at such a trying time.

Celia April 17, 2012
5 stars

The video was outstanding. It was beautifully done and many people commented on it. Everyone at Van Orsdel was extremely kind and helpful and I was completely satisfied with all of the arrangements. Also, the rooms where our gathering was held are very attractive and provided a pleasant atmosphere, which is what we wanted.

Amita March 06, 2012
5 stars

Thank you for your professionalism, warmth and attentive assistance in my time of need.

Myrta December 13, 2011
5 stars